Frozen Links

DUI South Carolina Laws Explained

Posted by on Oct 12, 2016 in DUI | 0 comments

In the state of South Carolina, you can be convicted for DUI if your BAC level exceeds 0.08%, regardless of whether or not you are driving impaired. When you are caught for DUI, South Carolina law requires that you subject yourself to a chemical test to determine your blood alcohol content. The website of Truslow & Truslow , Attorneys at Law reveals that a DUI conviction can have life altering consequences to the offender.
While you have the right to refuse to take either a breathalyzer or blood test, such refusal can have several consequences depending on whether it is your first, second, or third offense. South Carolina has one of the most stringent rules when it comes to BAC level. For drivers below 212 years old, the maximum BAC should be 0.2%.

One of the most common penalties for a DUI charge is license suspension. For first offense, the penalty is usually 6 months suspension of license. Succeeding offenses can mean a 9 month long suspension of your driver’s license. Aside from that, you could server a jail sentence which could run for 60 days for 3rd offense. Unfortunately, in South Carolina, a DUI offense remains on your driving record for a period of 10 years.
Another common penalty is the installation of ignition interlock device or IID which is a requirement if you get charged with DUI. For second time offenders, you will be required to install the device on your car for a period of 2 years. For third offense, the ignition interlock devices need to stay on your vehicle for a period of three years.

It is worth noting that law enforcement officers are supposed to measure your BAC level at the time you were driving. Watch out because the prosecutors will try to prove that you were still culpable for DUI even beyond that time.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *